Paleo toothpaste

Make your own toothpaste with coconut oil and baking soda to save money and avoid the fluoride and chemicals used in commercial toothpaste. It is super easy and it works well! Add a few drops of peppermint oil if you want to have a fresh taste in your mouth, but even without it, I feel like my mouth is clean and fresh after brushing my teeth with this Paleo toothpaste!

I keep a little jar of the coconut oil and baking soda mixture in my bathroom. I just mix it before using (the baking soda sinks a the bottom).

Ask your dentist to make sure it is safe for you. Baking soda is an abrasive so use it sparingly, in small amounts, no more than twice a day. You probably won’t feel the need to brush your teeth as often anyway if your diet is lower in carbs by avoiding grains and sugary foods.

Please note that baking soda can apparently dissolve orthodontic glue. Don’t use if you wear braces or any other kind of permanent/fixed dental correctors.

Let me know how it works for you!

From my websitehttp://www.eat-real-food-paleodietitian.com/paleo-toothpaste.html

Join me on facebook: http://www.facebook.com/aglaeethepaleodietitian

Sign up for the August 1-month REAL food challengehttp://www.eat-real-food-paleodietitian.com/realfoodchallenge.html

Leave a Reply

