travelling on a GAPS / Paleo / low-carb diet – Prague, Czech Republic

For Easter, my husband and I went to beautiful Prague, Czech Republic and loved it! Travelling with food intolerances or just trying to follow the Paleo diet is not necessarily easy but it is doable!

I don’t usually do intermittent fasting (restricting your eating within a short window of time), but I use travelling to do it. Some studies have shown it can be beneficial to decrease inflammation, prevent cancer and weight loss in some people. I wouldn’t recommend doing intermittent fasting if you are underweight though.

Since I currently can’t eat any dairy at all (with the exception of ghee) nor nuts, chocolate or processed/cured meat (deli meat and sausages), I stocked up on canned fish (mainly sardines and tuna BPA-free tins, in olive oil). I also brought my own ghee (which was not a problem since I was not flying, but I don’t know if they would consider it to be a liquid or not….). I’ll be trying it in June and will let you know!

my survival foods: BPA-free canned tuna in olive oil + Kerrygold butter ghee

my survival foods: BPA-free canned tuna in olive oil + Kerrygold butter ghee

To complete my small meals, I also bought some jarred olives and would have bought pickles if I couldn’t have read the ingredient lists (which was in czech of course!) The ingredient list of the olives was short enough that it was easy to figure out, but the pickles had a long ingredient list and I just didn’t want to take any chance.

For the 3 days I was travelling, that is basically all I ate. Sure I was hungry from time to time, but because my body is used to burning fat because of my lower carb intake, it didn’t affect me too much.

My husband also eats Paleo but doesn’t have as many dietary restrictions as I do. He also brought German sausages that can be kept at room temperature, nuts, a stick of butter and dark chocolate. 😉 He bought fresh cherry tomatoes and freshly made Czech potato chips that were, according to him, the best he even eaten in his whole life! 😉

Not only did I felt safer eating my own foods,                                                                 but we also save quite a bit of time and money too!

Český Krumlov, Czech Republic

On our last day, we indulged and ate out at a 100% gluten-free restaurant called Na Zlaté křižovatce (just by Florenc bus/metro station).

100% gluten-free restaurant in Prague, Czech Republic

I was so excited to find this restaurant, because even though you sometimes try to explain what you can and cannot eat to the server, it is not always easy and the language barrier makes it even harder.

love their explanation of gluten-free diets: gluten-free is NOT taste-free!!! unlike many gluten-free restaurants, they used very little gluten-free products and relied mainly on potato as their carbohydrate option.

I had the rumpsteak with grilled vegetables and my husband had the special Easter dinner with the stuffed rabbit with French mustard sauce and roasted potatoes, along with a Czech gluten-free draft beer called Celia (again, the best gluten-free beer he ever had, but that is not a surprise considering Czech have the world’s highest beer consumption!). I definitely highly recommend this restaurant if ever you visit Prague!

my dinner! it was my first time eating nightshades in a few months and I am glad to say that I tolerated them fine!!! =)

Now, I am really looking forward to eating eggs and vegetables again! I will only appreciate my favorite foods even more after not having them for 3 days and am soooo happy to have had a beautiful symptom-free time in Prague.

What do YOU do to stick to your diet and avoid being sick when travelling?

5 thoughts on “travelling on a GAPS / Paleo / low-carb diet – Prague, Czech Republic

  1. Nice looking trip! I’ll keep an eye out for tuna in olive oil, but here I’ve only seen it in unacceptable oil, or brine (which I buy). Frankly if the pickles had a long ingredient list in ANY language, I wouldn’t buy them – it should be just cucumbers, onions, garlic, dill salt and … that’s about it!
    I agree that finding a restaurant that knows what you’re talking about is awesome. I found a little cafe in a town in the north of Ireland like that. There were only 2 or 3 things on the menu I could have, but the server knew what they were or what to alter for me. Brilliant!

  2. This is a really timely entry for me. I’m actually going to Germany for two weeks in about a week and half and am on a paleo/gaps diet for SIBO. I speak no German so I am terrified I’ll end up poisoning myself with gluten or dairy or some sort of carbohydrate. Any tips? Advice? I’d really appreciate it.

    By the way, I love your website and your blog. I stumbled upon them while researching the GAPS diet which I’m experimenting with to help IBS/SIBO. It’s really comforting to read about someone who’s had similar experiences and has found relief. Right now my diet’s very restrictive.

      • We’re actually going to be in a smaller town for part of the time, which is why I’m a bit worried, but that card is a really good idea. Thank you 🙂 I’ll definitely take that with. I think a travel card for GAPS/Paleo people would be awesome! Thanks for your help!

Leave a Reply

