my first (natural) period with PCOS!

Wow, this stuff works!

As you know, I have been following a low-carb version of the Paleo diet (combined with the GAPS diet) for a while now. Actually, I started low-carbing in 2010, then went completely grain-free at the beginning of 2011, roughly 1 year ago. Then I implemented the GAPS Nutritional Protocol to heal my gut, SIBO and fructose malabsorption issues on September 1st.

… and now, after having amenorrhea due to PCOS for almost 14 months, I got my first natural period! =) I have never been so happy to get my period!

I don’t know what did it exactly, but what I have been doing has finally been working. I will never know whether my body just needed more time to get my hormones back on track, whether the detox suggested by my naturopathic doctor did the trick or whether both of these things worked together to balance my hormones… but what matters is that I now know that my body is healing… finally!

I know I probably have other battles ahead of me. Will my cycle be regular? Am I ovulating at all? Will I experience fertility issues? But there is one thing I know for sure and it is that I will continue to follow a low-carb Paleo diet because I strongly believe it is the best approach for most women in my situation.

To all of you women with PCOS, don’t give up. You can beat it!

~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

Learn more about how to get started with the Paleo diet and how to optimize the Paleo diet for your own body with The Personal Paleo Code:

Learn more about the Personal Paleo Code

Learn more about Paleo eating to enhance fertility, have a healthy pregnancy and deliver a super healthy Paleo baby with the Healthy Baby Code:

4 thoughts on “my first (natural) period with PCOS!

Leave a Reply

